You are here


An agency within the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), FTA is headed by an administrator appointed by the president of the United States. FTA is one of DOT’s 10 modes of transportation and is run by a headquarters in Washington, D.C. as well as 10 regional offices that assist transit agencies in all states and U.S. territories. In addition, staff in five metropolitan offices provide support to meet the needs of the nation's largest transit operators.

Headshot of K. Jane Williams

K. Jane Williams
Deputy Administrator

Read more about K. Jane Williams

Matthew Welbes - Executive Director

Matthew Welbes
Executive Director

Read more about Matthew Welbes

Submit Feedback >